General LSX Automobile Discussion Non-technical LSX related topics.

LS1 guy, what are my options for intake manifold.

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2007, 05:27 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 19 Likes on 13 Posts

Default LS1 guy, what are my options for intake manifold.

Is the LS6 and fast 90 my only options when it comes to the intake manifold. I want the best bang for the buck. I'm guessing that's the LS6. The only thing I've done to my car is change the oil and put new coolant in it. Can I change this myself? I'm a real noob!
Old 12-22-2007, 05:42 PM
Banned

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by allbaugh_04
Is the LS6 and fast 90 my only options when it comes to the intake manifold. I want the best bang for the buck. I'm guessing that's the LS6. The only thing I've done to my car is change the oil and put new coolant in it. Can I change this myself? I'm a real noob!
A ported LS2 would work well also.

If your car has stock cam/heads the FAST will be a waste....but it is by far the best on the market for modded engines.

The LS6 is a great value & yes, with care you can do the swap yourself. Do a search here for step by step instructions.
Old 12-22-2007, 05:44 PM
TECH Fanatic

i'll be doing cam swap, probably go with the torquer 2, so i was told to swap out this intake manifold. I found the writeup on ls1howto.com

So these parts aren't interchangeable or what? Where do I find them?

"Parts you will need:
- 1x 2001+ front coolant pipe - #12568478
- 2x 2001+ rear coolant plugs - #12562788 (Note, you can use a 2nd coolant pipe in place of these plugs if necessary)"
Old 12-23-2007, 08:26 AM
11 Second Club

Location: Your girl's back door giving her the long stroke while you're at work
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

You also have the BBK SSI, Victor Jr with a elbow and Weiand has one as well
Old 12-23-2007, 11:34 AM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts