General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Help with installing brake pads

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2009, 02:43 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with installing brake pads

ok well this is my first time installing brake pads so sorry if i sound like a noob. Well i thought this would easy, i took off the caliper, took of the pads (down to the metal) and then compressed the piston all the way down. I put in the new pads but when it was time to put on the caliper it wouldnt fit in the rotor like the pads are too thick. Idk what else to do it looks like the rotor will barely fit the caliper without the pads. Did i forget a step? here are some pics to give you guys a better idea.
Attached Thumbnails Help with installing brake pads-0104091935.jpg   Help with installing brake pads-0104091938.jpg  
Old 01-05-2009, 02:51 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

make sure you are compressing the pistons all the way down... if i had to guess that would be the culprit..

get a c-clamp and tighten the SOB's down.. make sure you do it all the way..

this happened to me also.. i couldnt hardly get the brakes on.. and when i did they were too tight...... my rotor was shot and so was my pad... (down to metal on metal also)..
i got a old rotor a friend had, and got them turned.. then put new pads on.. problem fixed....

you arent putting new pads on old rotors are you.... at the LEAST you need to get that rotor turned BEFORE you put new pads on..
Old 01-05-2009, 11:00 AM