General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

HID headlights not working help please!

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2010, 10:50 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HID headlights not working help please!

Hey everyone,

I just bought Eagle Motorsport Halo Headlights with HID off of eBay. I attempted to install the HIDs but I have not been able to make them work. I have attached a pic of the Xenon bulb with the four connectors and ballister. I plugged the low beam wire into the ballister and the 2 small wires from the ballister to the Xenon bulb, is this correct? I went over the directions but theyre very vague. The HID set I bought was for the single low beam, not High and Lows. Do I need relays?

I know setting up HIDs shouldnt be this hard but i'm not good with electrical work. Any help is appreciated.

Evan
Attached Thumbnails HID headlights not working help please!-hid.jpg  
Old 10-17-2010, 10:53 PM
On The Tree

Reverse the plug going from the bulb to the stock wiring (put it in rotated the wrong way). We have reverse polarized wiring for some reason.

EDIT: No you do not need a relay. Just to be clear, the long, fat wire with a plug on the end goes into the ballast. The short wires next to the bulb with a plug on the end plugs into the stock wiring that the halogen bulb was plugged into . The two small plugs plug into the opposite counter parts on the ballast.

Last edited by FUH Q; 10-17-2010 at 11:02 PM.
Old 10-17-2010, 10:56 PM
On The Tree

Aite sweet man thanks...I hope i didnt burn out the ballisters now. That would suck.
Old 10-17-2010, 11:06 PM
On The Tree

Don't worry it wont harm anything. Lemme know if it still doesn't work.
Old 10-17-2010, 11:27 PM
On The Tree

Old 10-18-2010, 07:25 AM
On The Tree

lmao thanks for the diagram. I would have got it wrong again if you didn't take your time to draw that up. Thank you very much hopefully it'll work when I try it out this afternoon.
Old 10-19-2010, 09:39 AM