General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

AC cycles on and off constantly

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2012, 06:04 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AC cycles on and off constantly

Hey guys, this is on my 2000 Sonoma, but shouldnt be much different than a camaro. Im a technician, but not too savvy with ac systems. I recovered the freon, opened the line and replaced the orifice. I also replaced the valve cores. I recharged the system to specs, but the AC compressor cycles on and off constantly. When I had it hooked to the guages, the high side would quickly rise to 400PSI then the compressor would cut off, then the low side would rise back up and cut back and the process would keep doing this. This means I have a restriction in the system correct?
Old 06-23-2012, 07:58 PM
TECH Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

High side is way to high. could you have over charged it? Why you asking here rather than having another tech you work with help? Lol
Old 06-23-2012, 08:01 PM
TECH Regular

You didn't say you pulled a vacuum before you recharged it, did you? Air in the system will make pressure too high
Old 06-23-2012, 08:17 PM
Launching!

Is your condenser fans working when AC is ON??? They should be. 400 On the high is a bit high. In a very worm day it can be normal to some extent. I would have to check the charts. If the low side is sucking down past 30 it will kick out the compressor if it is a CCOT system. Their are many different systems out their and they work entirely different. Do you have a LICENSE?? If not BE CAREFUL. BIG FINES!!!
Old 06-23-2012, 08:31 PM
TECH Regular

Originally Posted by tom falco