General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Starting issues when warm? - See Video

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2013, 07:56 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Starting issues when warm? - See Video

Hey all.
I recently bought a 2001 Holden VX Berlina LS1. Had a few hiccups with it, but thats life

Cold starts, no worries. Hasn't let me down yet. Fires straight up.

The issue seems to be if i have been driving, let it sit for about 30mins to an hour or two (can't be super specific about the time as it varies), come back and she won't fire up the first go. It will crank normal speed (so i assume battery/starter's are all fine) and fire but have a horribley low idle then just stall....then you have to crank it for about 5 seconds before it fires again, then runs fine.

I am no mechanic by any means, but i have a feeling it might not be getting fuel...or maybe too much? :\ Thinking maybe a reg, bad injectors?
Car drives fine, which is what i am unsure what part to replace.
No error codes on the ECU either.

I took some video's to when it starts up normal and when it doesn't.
The last one is what i am trying to describe..

See what you think fellas!

Normal Start -
Normal Start -
Bad Start -
Old 05-16-2013, 01:46 PM
12 Second Club

I would test the fuel pressure when it does that. You could have a fuel pump going south. Or relay etc.

But, first things first, test fuel pressure.
Old 05-17-2013, 09:39 AM

Thanks for the reply pat,

I am leaning towards injectors leaking.

It never does it on cold starts, only if its been sitting for a little bit.

Thinking fuel may be leaking and flooding the motor, the oil also smells a bit like petrol...

Regardless, bought some new injectors and will see how it goes.
Old 05-17-2013, 10:23 AM
Save the manuals!

Received 352 Likes on 321 Posts