General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

first time changing spark plugs/wires

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2017, 05:09 PM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default first time changing spark plugs/wires

as the work on my car continues, I wanted to replace the valve cover seals and clean/paint the valve covers, and to do that you have to remove the coil packs, which I'm working on right now, also heard it makes it easier to change the plugs/wires if the coil packs are removed, and I figure if I do it myself, hey FREE LABOR. And being as this is my first time changing plugs/wires, just want to make sure I do it right, it is my understanding that when you remove the wires from the coils and the plugs, you grab them by the boot and give a tug on them at the same time give a twisting motion to release them, is that correct? Already have a spark plug socket, getting wires and plugs soon, my main question is my car has not moved an inch in 6 months(yes, I know, its killing me) would that be an issue as far as removing the plugs?
Old 05-11-2017, 06:20 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts

no issue in pulling at the boot itself... however you will have much better access for the #8 plug from underneath the car
Old 05-12-2017, 01:38 PM
Banned

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Originally Posted by blue09rocket