General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Just bought a Car- What to check

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2008, 11:03 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Just bought a Car- Problems

Hey all,

I just bought a 2000 WS6 with 85K miles on it. I know that it wasn't the greatest decision, but I kinda rushed into it and now it is what is. Anyways, I plan on changing all the fluids this weekend (oil, rear end, trans, brake, coolant, etc). I also plan on changing the fuel filter and probably the air filter too. I have checked the brake pads and they are ok. So what else should I check on to make sure that it is in fine working order. I am fairly new to F-bodies so forgive my ignorance.

Also, when ever I am rolling in neutral from around 30 mph to when I come to a stop, it sounds like the passenger rear brake caliper is sticking (It sounds like when you have no pad left and the caliper is rubbing against the rotor, but I have plenty of pad so its not that); however, when I step on the brakes the sound doesn't go away. After driving the car the rear brakes feel a lot hotter than the fronts. I am guessing the caliper is bad and either needs to be rebuilt or I just need a new one. Any ideas? Thanks guys.

There is another issue now also. At 2000 and 2500 RPM in any gear if you give the like 50% to 75% throttle, the car stutters or hesitates. It only happens at those two RPM ranges and it doesn't really happen at WOT or if you give it just a little throttle. No engine lights or anything. Any Ideas on this one??

Clayton

Last edited by clainhart3; 04-09-2008 at 08:42 PM.
Old 04-09-2008, 02:58 PM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Change the spark plugs, that'll teach ya!
Old 04-09-2008, 03:02 PM
TECH Fanatic

Why Was That A Bad Decision
Old 04-09-2008, 08:39 PM
On The Tree

Originally Posted by tee-boy
Why Was That A Bad Decision