Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LS3 intake on cathedral heads?

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2016, 03:48 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LS3 intake on cathedral heads?

Keep in mind I'm an LS beginner.

I just picked up a set of CNC ported cathedral port heads from my local machine shop. I know the owner of the shop and trust him. He was selling these heads for a customer that was running them on a 6.0 and he has seen the heads on the engine. Owner did an LS3 head swap.

He says the guy also has an LS6 manifold so I tell him to let him know I'm interested. Manifold shows up at the shop and turns out it's an LS3 rect. port intake. The original owner of the engine claims this is the manifold that he was running. I checked the gasket imprints on the heads and they do appear to match the LS3 gaskets.

I didn't buy the intake. This sounds like a very bad idea to me. The lower part of the CNC ports closely match the LS3 profile, but it looks like there will be a lot of turbulence when the air hits the square shoulder of the upper part of the cathedral port which I would assume would kill a lot of flow.

Has anyone ever heard of this? I didn't know they would even bolt up.
Old 11-20-2016, 12:15 AM
Restricted User

Received 107 Likes on 89 Posts

No....
Old 11-20-2016, 08:54 AM
Staging Lane

Just what I thought. It didn't make any sense that it would work right and I 've never seen anything in print or on the forums about it.

Word has it that the car the engine was in was fast and won a lot of races. I can't say for sure, but if that's true, it probably would have been a lot faster with the right intake.

Looks like I'm still looking for an LS6 manifold. Might have to go with a Dorman.
Old 11-20-2016, 10:46 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 196 Likes on 138 Posts

subscribe to the LSx parts Facebook page. LS6 intakes come and go on the daily there.