Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Adding speed engineering headers

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2018, 01:46 AM
SCH
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Adding speed engineering headers

As the title says I’m adding 1 7/8” headers to my 02 WS6. I have the car jacked up on wood blocks and it’s 18” off the ground. Do I need to get it higher or should that work to squeeze them in? I plan on doing the motor mounts while I have the room to get them done. I’m going to need the air block off plates correct? Where to get these if I do? What gaskets are good so I only have to do this once? Are the speed engineering gaskets with the bolts a good way to go? This is my first time doing something like this. If you guys can point me in the right direction it would be very appreciated!
Old 07-28-2018, 07:00 AM
TECH Veteran

Received 64 Likes on 49 Posts

Higher! I had to put 2 2x4 chunks on top of my jack, put it under my k-member and take it as high as it would pump before I could get my passenger side in. Drivers side header had to be pretty much straight up and down before it would go in. If you got the race versions you shouldn’t need block-offs. You can remove all the emissions crap if you have it. Since you have an 02 you won’t have to mess with it. I’m a little contentious about poly mounts right now. I ran into problems with mine and having fitment issues after install. Until I get to try some stock mounts to see if it solves my problem I’m not gonna recommend polys! I would get GM MLS steel gaskets. For bolts I used ARP 12-point stainless bolts. I also used angled plug wires from Hinson. Pull your oil filter too and get O2 extensions. Take the coil packs off and make sure you get a 10mm ratcheting wrench!

Last edited by 99Silver6.0; 07-28-2018 at 07:09 AM.
Old 07-28-2018, 09:58 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 412 Likes on 299 Posts