Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

gmmg exhaust considered a street legal cat back?

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2004, 07:56 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default gmmg exhaust considered a street legal cat back?

Just popped in my head this morning that I had this exhaust for some time now and it has its moments when it can be loud. Since this exhaust is on their gmmg cars that are sold by dealers, it must have been certified. Anyone know?
Old 11-06-2004, 09:44 AM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

in VA, any exhaust other then stock is considered "illegal" I guess you would say, which you get a ticket for noise violation, but I don't know about NC. I've been riding around with my GMMG with LT's and ORY for about 4 months and have not had a problem yet. Mine is pretty loud, but I love the sound of it
Old 11-06-2004, 10:11 AM
TECH Fanatic

God bless Oklahoma.

I drove around for quite a while with nothing coming off of the Y pipe with no problems.

(I had to remove the gas tank, thats why it was all off, not because I'm a hillbilly.)
Old 11-06-2004, 12:49 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I've got my GMMG hooked up to Kook's LT with cats and rarely ever get any grief from cops about it. The only thing that I run into is at WOT it's above the decible level for noise poullution.
Old 11-06-2004, 01:42 PM
TECH Addict

As far as I am aware of there are three things two worry about:
1) Don't mess with the catalytic converters.
2) Make sure the exhaust exits past the passenger compartment.
3) Don't make it too loud, and if you do only drive it during the hours a day that it is accaptable during.
Other than that nobody should care, including the inspection station.
Old 11-06-2004, 07:50 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by Hardtop00SS