Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Making a "solid" lifter?

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2013, 10:53 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Making a "solid" lifter?

I'm in the middle of a cam / lifter swap and all other necessary parts of course.
I'm going with the ms4 cam, using stock 98 ls1 heads, which I had cleaned and decked... I'm a bit worried that having these heads decked was a bad idea when trying to use such a big cam.

Now im in the process of using clay to check PTV clearance. I've never done this before but it all seems quite simple, lay the clay down, tighten the head, turn motor over, check measurements..

Now for my question, as I read more into this I need to use a "solid" lifter. Ive read where I need to fill a lifter with metal to prevent it from "plunging" when motor is turned over. I have 2 lifters taken apart but not too sure what to throw in there to make it not plunge at all, anyone know what I should use?

Also, I bought all new ls7 lifters which I will be using to replace my ls1 lifters, as 1 had a tick. I'm told they are slightly different size than the ls1's, will this mess with my readings as i'm checking clearance using the ls1 lifter?
Old 05-10-2013, 11:33 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

You could have a shop tack weld the plunger.
Old 05-10-2013, 11:37 PM
Staging Lane

Originally Posted by Exidous
You could have a shop tack weld the plunger.
in that case, ill do that! Any idea if my measurements will be different because im using the ls1 lifter to do the checking but going to be running ls7 lifters once I go in for the install?
Old 05-10-2013, 11:39 PM
TECH Fanatic

They should be exactly the same. There were stories about the LS7 lifter being .050" different but it's not. You can verify if you have a digital caliper. Use a pushrod and the lifter and measure total height.
Old 05-10-2013, 11:42 PM
Staging Lane