Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Valves hitting Pistons W/ T-ReX!!! Need help (probably my fault)

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2004, 01:55 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Valves hitting Pistons W/ T-ReX!!! Need help (probably my fault)

T-ReX is in. Heads are on and torqued (stock unmodified heads). rockers are on and torqued. Put on a new oil pump, stock timing chain and gears, lifters. I bought TR's cam package with cam with 7.4" pushrods. Using Victor Reinz headgaskets. I didn't use a degree wheel. I did however line up the dots, and they line up perfectly (I think).

Any ideas why they're hitting? I'm pretty sure it's the valves hitting, as I can't really look in there to tell. It sounds like it's coming from around that general area. I can turn the cam gear, probably, 1/3 of the way around, before it hits something and stops.

cam specs are 243.8/249.7 .609/.615 109.9. I'm no cam expert, but could that extra bit of duration and lift, cause the problem?

I asked my local board, COFBA, and they've thrown out a few ideas (BTW, thanks guys), but, I figured i'd put it on this board too.

Called TR and the guy said it might not be degreed properly. I have no idea how to use a degreeing wheel, but I thought all I had to do was line up the 2 dots?

Advise?
Old 04-30-2004, 02:08 PM
!LS1 11 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I thought it was supposed to be .612 lift?
Are those gaskets any thinner than stock?
Old 04-30-2004, 02:09 PM
TECH Apprentice

...when I spoke to Texas Speed, they told me I would have to degree the cam and notch the pistons for that cam...look at the lift .609/614...did you clay it prior to installing just to see if it was going to touch or not? How deep is the indention on the piston? Did they advice you to go with a shorter push rod?
Old 04-30-2004, 02:10 PM
On The Tree