Sponsored by:

Engine Check Tips

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2013, 11:38 PM
On The Tree

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Engine Check Tips

Hi guys.

I am undertaking my first engine swap and I am a novice so please bear with me. I have a 1950 Chevy truck that I want to put an LS into. I came across a good deal on a 180,000 mile 5.3 out of a 2000 Silverado that was supposedly side swiped. When I got the motor it was already out and waiting for me. At $300 with everything attached (harness and PCM included) I figured it was worth the risk. My project is a long way for having the motor dropped I but I want to start cleaning and painting the engine in anticipation of the day it goes in. My fear is that I'll drop it in all pretty only to find out its junk.

If its on an engine stand with a starter, heads, intake, and accessories what can I do to figure out if my heads and block are good to go? I thought maybe a compression test but that's all I could think of.

What kind of numbers should I hope to see on the compression test?

What else would you suggest I try?

If the motor checks out, I want to replace all the gaskets and seals for piece of mind but I'd rather not spend that time an money on a bad motor.

Oh and I know everyone likes pictures so below is a picture of the truck the motor is going into. Like I said, its a ways from having the new motor.

Thanks
Greg

Good bye to this
Old 10-29-2013, 12:41 PM
On The Tree

Wow. 100 views and no one has even one suggestion of something I could look for on my engine to help me figure out if its bad or not.
Old 10-29-2013, 12:49 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Just my opinion but I would pull valve covers and make sure everything is kosher while rotating the engine.

Compression and leakdown would also be worth while.

I'd borescope the cylinders too while you are at it.