Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Are these cylinder walls glazed?

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2016, 12:56 AM
Staging Lane

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Are these cylinder walls glazed?

I purchased a junkyard LQ9, and just pulled the pan to check the internals. I'm not experienced with this at all but I know the cylinder walls should show a crosshatch pattern. They do below the piston ring contact area but above that, only slightly. Can I get your opinions on whether the cylinders should be honed? If so I'll probably use a dingleberry hone.

Plans for the engine are to not remove the heads at this time -- to get the wiring and programming, sensors etc. straight so I can drive it and then figure out what to do with it; it'll be NA and I'm cheap so I'll probably stick with stock heads too.
Attached Thumbnails Are these cylinder walls glazed?-img_20160316_203548.jpg   Are these cylinder walls glazed?-img_20160316_203537.jpg  
Old 03-17-2016, 08:22 AM
TECH Addict

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by xEtherealx
I purchased a junkyard LQ9, and just pulled the pan to check the internals. I'm not experienced with this at all but I know the cylinder walls should show a crosshatch pattern. They do below the piston ring contact area but above that, only slightly. Can I get your opinions on whether the cylinders should be honed? If so I'll probably use a dingleberry hone.

Plans for the engine are to not remove the heads at this time -- to get the wiring and programming, sensors etc. straight so I can drive it and then figure out what to do with it; it'll be NA and I'm cheap so I'll probably stick with stock heads too.
Any info on mileage or running condition before purchase? Compression test? Based on the very little bit I can see, I would run that engine if the rest looked similar.