Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Checking PTV/Lifter Preload/Pushrod Length

My setup:

2002 LS1
TSP Tsunami camshaft
225 PRC 62cc heads as cast unmilled/MLS head gasket
LS7 lifters

I have searched for days on all of these topics, but at this point I honestly don't know where to start (this is my first build of this magnitude).

Im pretty sure I understand measuring for Pushrod length; Torque rocker arm to 22ft lbs, extend checker tool until play in rocker has been removed (zero lash), count turns on checker to come up with pushrod length (0.05 per turn), and then add in preload for final pushrod length. But what is the proper preload? I know GM calls for 0.05-0.1, but I am reading in my comp cams book 0.02-0.06 preload, and my manager (just so happens to be a ls1 guy) is swearing I need to run 0.03-0.04 preload in order to make more power- he's built a few ls engines in his day, but those numbers seem extremely low to me? Valve float?

PTV, I am not sure which method to use; clay or checker springs. Id prefer to not have to take apart my new heads, considering I have never built a cylinder head before. Also, I realize I will need to use solid lifters if I use clay, but will I need to have my new pushrods handy in order to measure for PTV clearance, or can I use the factory 7.4 rods at zero lash? And can I only check cylinder #1 for clearance, or will I have to check each individual cylinder? I know I SHOULD be alright as far as clearance goes with this setup, but I would rather be safe than sorry.

Thanks in advance, I really appreciate the help.
Old 06-12-2016, 05:13 AM
Launching!