Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LS1 cold start noise/chirp sound

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2017, 10:38 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LS1 cold start noise/chirp sound

Hello, I have recently acquired a 98 Z28. I should start off by stating I am new to owning an LS car but not new to working on them. I'm a tech at an import dealer so I have a decent amount of repair/diag skills. Since it has gotten cold out I've noticed a strange chirping noise on cold starts. It quiets down when its warm but you can still hear it when the hood is popped and you're standing in front of it. Not sure if its headers leaking or if the previous owner messed something up when he installed the cam, such as not setting pre load or something isn't lined up right. I pulled the belt and started it and the noise did not go away. Not sure if it's lifter noise, piston slap, exhaust leak, rocker noise. I can't determine what It is. It doesn't help that a "Cletus" owned it before me, so there is no telling what was done and not done or what wasn't done properly. Does anyone have experience with this noise that can help in any way? Thank you. the link to the video is posted below.

Last edited by Chris Bauer; 11-13-2017 at 02:45 PM.
Old 11-13-2017, 12:15 PM
Teching In

Update, I've checked all the header bolts and they're tight. Doesn't rule out a failed gasket though. I stuck a stethoscope on the motor at idle and the noise is the loudest on the intake manifold. Mostly humps #2 and #3.
Old 11-13-2017, 02:13 PM
TECH Resident

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
LS1Tech 10 Year

Piston slap.

Russ Kemp
Old 11-13-2017, 02:44 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 3,261 Likes on 2,538 Posts

Originally Posted by Russ K
Piston slap.

Russ Kemp
I agree.
Old 11-13-2017, 02:58 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 524 Likes on 372 Posts