Speedmaster head studs wonít thread into the block!? Ugh - LS1TECH - Camaro and Firebird Forum Discussion

Notices
Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Speedmaster head studs wonít thread into the block!? Ugh

Reply

Old 04-14-2018, 03:54 PM
  #1  
TECH Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,050
Default Speedmaster head studs wonít thread into the block!? Ugh

busted my *** to yank the heads, clean everything, swap to LS6 springs and new seals, new lifters and trays, LQ9 cam, 2 piece front cover , cloyes timing set, shimmer oil pump and c6 oil pan. Go to put the new speedmaster head studs I got around Xmas on a special and they wonít thread into the block more than 5 turns with an Allen head. With my car hands itís like 2 turns. I chased the threads and cleaned them out. Stock bolts thread in fine. im super pissed bc this is not stopping me from going forward. I also got $70 invested in these so thatís a waste when they wonít even go into the block.

So i put one of the head studs against the thread of a stock bolt and sure enough the thread is slightly off. It engages the threads and then after a few the pitch changes and starts to run on the inside of the thread and pushes the 2 threads apart. I mean 5 full turns cranking down with an Allen is not enough thread engagement for anything. Donít even think I want another set from them if they even offer it.

Not sure what to do now. I donít really want to put TTY bolts on but my 2003 block has the 4 bolts shorter than the rest which jacks the prices up of ARP bolts to $170+

Hears a pic of whats going on.



customblackbird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 04:18 PM
  #2  
TECH Fanatic
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: columbus,ohio
Posts: 1,245
Default

Originally Posted by customblackbird View Post
busted my *** to yank the heads, clean everything, swap to LS6 springs and new seals, new lifters and trays, LQ9 cam, 2 piece front cover , cloyes timing set, shimmer oil pump and c6 oil pan. Go to put the new speedmaster head studs I got around Xmas on a special and they wonít thread into the block more than 5 turns with an Allen head. With my car hands itís like 2 turns. I chased the threads and cleaned them out. Stock bolts thread in fine. im super pissed bc this is not stopping me from going forward. I also got $70 invested in these so thatís a waste when they wonít even go into the block.

So i put one of the head studs against the thread of a stock bolt and sure enough the thread is slightly off. It engages the threads and then after a few the pitch changes and starts to run on the inside of the thread and pushes the 2 threads apart. I mean 5 full turns cranking down with an Allen is not enough thread engagement for anything. Donít even think I want another set from them if they even offer it.

Not sure what to do now. I donít really want to put TTY bolts on but my 2003 block has the 4 bolts shorter than the rest which jacks the prices up of ARP bolts to $170+

Hears a pic of whats going on.



Do have any close up pics of the thread pitch change . Can you say who the seller was ,because I was thinking of getting some .
omc8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 04:51 PM
  #3  
10 Second Club
iTrader: (26)
 
ddnspider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: FL
Posts: 6,761
Default

Can you put 1 of the Speed Masters through a die of the same set as the tap? I wonder if you got a different size bolt or something. My set threaded in beautifully.
ddnspider is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 05:28 PM
  #4  
TECH Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,050
Default

Originally Posted by omc8 View Post
Do have any close up pics of the thread pitch change . Can you say who the seller was ,because I was thinking of getting some .
yea look at the pic I posted. I will post again. I got them right from speedmaster when they were having a 15% off entire site sale.
customblackbird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 05:30 PM
  #5  
TECH Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,050
Default

Originally Posted by ddnspider View Post
Can you put 1 of the Speed Masters through a die of the same set as the tap? I wonder if you got a different size bolt or something. My set threaded in beautifully.
i might have a tap to run it through but the threads seem off a good bit. I will go check the part number on the box tho but Iím pretty sure they are the correct ones.
customblackbird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 05:31 PM
  #6  
TECH Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,050
Default

Hereís the pic again, just in case itís not showing up before.

customblackbird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 05:58 PM
  #7  
TECH Fanatic
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: columbus,ohio
Posts: 1,245
Default

Originally Posted by customblackbird View Post
Hereís the pic again, just in case itís not showing up before.

Still don't see a picture
omc8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 07:38 PM
  #8  
TECH Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,050
Default

Dunno then. Shows up on my feed.
customblackbird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 07:45 PM
  #9  
10 Second Club
iTrader: (26)
 
ddnspider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: FL
Posts: 6,761
Default

I see the pic but you really need a pic of the threads even not offset from each other.
ddnspider is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 08:03 PM
  #10  
TECH Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 626
Default

Invest in a set of micrometers and a thread pitch gauge, SAE and Metric....
cookseyb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 08:30 PM
  #11  
TECH Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,050
Default

I will try to snap a pic. The reason I had them interlocked is to show how the thread pitch changes. They should all interlock but they donít, as the thread changes it pushes the bolts apart. Whatís Iinteresting is that the 3-5 threads that go in are what interlock and then above that they push away which is where it thread in anymore.

Heres a link to a amazon review where the guy says the same thing.

Amazon Amazon
customblackbird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 08:33 PM
  #12  
TECH Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,050
Default

Verified my part number is correct. Here is the link to the part I got. Verified the part number on the box.

Last edited by KCS; 04-15-2018 at 02:40 PM. Reason: Non Sponsor Link Removed
customblackbird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 08:46 PM
  #13  
Launching!
iTrader: (1)
 
tuske427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 260
Default

I can see your pics and I understand your issue. I'd contact where you got them and exchange them. Obviously, what they sent you isn't right, especially since you've confirmed the part ordered should fit.

If you do have some thread pitch gauges (basic ones are usually included with a common tap/ dye set) you could measure them for additional reference, and share these pics to the mfg also if they question you beyond the pics you included in this post.

I wouldn't chase the head bolts through a dye, as you'll be cutting away material and strength of the bolt.
tuske427 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 08:49 PM
  #14  
10 Second Club
iTrader: (26)
 
ddnspider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: FL
Posts: 6,761
Default

I wasn't suggesting to use the die on all the bolts. Just 1 bolt as another point of reference that the thread pitch changes.
ddnspider is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 09:52 PM
  #15  
10 Second Club
iTrader: (11)
 
Zmg00camaross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 4,799
Default

Different threads. Bummer.
Zmg00camaross is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2018, 07:35 AM
  #16  
TECH Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,050
Default

Originally Posted by ddnspider View Post
I wasn't suggesting to use the die on all the bolts. Just 1 bolt as another point of reference that the thread pitch changes.
oh gotcha. Well letís just say every bolt on one WHOLE head wouldnít thread in the block. Itís not like 1 bolt was out of wack. The whole set seems to be.
customblackbird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2018, 07:36 AM
  #17  
TECH Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,050
Default

Originally Posted by tuske427 View Post
I can see your pics and I understand your issue. I'd contact where you got them and exchange them. Obviously, what they sent you isn't right, especially since you've confirmed the part ordered should fit.

If you do have some thread pitch gauges (basic ones are usually included with a common tap/ dye set) you could measure them for additional reference, and share these pics to the mfg also if they question you beyond the pics you included in this post.

I wouldn't chase the head bolts through a dye, as you'll be cutting away material and strength of the bolt.
Iíll see what I got in my basic kits for the thread pitch. Iíll try to call procomp and see what they will do but Iíve never contacted them
via the phone before.
customblackbird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2018, 11:23 AM
  #18  
TECH Junkie
iTrader: (21)
 
truckdoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Portlandia
Posts: 3,101
Default

call 'em they aint too bad to deal with. but yeah that about par for the course on those chinese studs. after sticking up for them for 2-3 years, i got a set that 16 nuts didnt have threads AT ALL, lol. absolutely zero QC.

now i just reuse the stock TTY bolts. 20psi and it's all good, knock on wood
truckdoug is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2018, 11:55 AM
  #19  
LS1Tech Sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Santa Ana, CA. USA
Posts: 1,885
Default Thread Pitch = WRONG

Hi BB, DO NOT USE the pictured Studs as they are the WRONG Pitch.

I would like to know WHO they were purchased from, the invoice will have an extension #/salesman # ?

Try EX # 116 at SpeedMaster.

Did you buy DIRECT ?

When someone places a COPY item in a SpeedMaster BOX, it is a Federal CRIME, the FBI will investigate ! (COUNTERFEIT)

Lance
Pantera EFI is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2018, 01:26 PM
  #20  
TECH Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,050
Default

Originally Posted by truckdoug View Post
call 'em they aint too bad to deal with. but yeah that about par for the course on those chinese studs. after sticking up for them for 2-3 years, i got a set that 16 nuts didnt have threads AT ALL, lol. absolutely zero QC.

now i just reuse the stock TTY bolts. 20psi and it's all good, knock on wood
haha that whole response is crazy. Good deal on the TTY bolts. Iíd rather not reuse them lol. Jegs sells bolts for $130 170k strength.
customblackbird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: