Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2002 LQ4 Machine work bearing issue?

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2020, 04:09 AM
Teching In

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 2002 LQ4 Machine work bearing issue?

Hello everyone I'm new to the LS world more familiar with gen 1 small blocks but have decided to leave the stone age and build my first LS engine. I decided on a 2002 LQ4 to rebuild. Previous owner stated it was a runner and on tear down all I really found was some slight pitting on a couple of cylinder walls from sitting outside I presume. I found some 243 heads to bump compression over the 317's and brought them with the block to the machine shop. After 2 months and another week delay do to some cam bearings issues they delivered the engine to make up for the delays which was nice. Apparently they ran into issues cause of different cam bearings for different years I'm told. They punched it out 20 thou new flat pistons, full meal deal to the block deck, align hone etc. Same with the heads valve job resurfacing and so on.