Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

cam and spring swap for a total newb

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2005, 02:42 PM
7 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default cam and spring swap for a total newb

alright heres the thing... i have a little, very little motor knowledge when it comes to actually tearing one down.. and at this point i have all the **** together for a intake and TB, and cam and spring swap but i dont wanna pay any one 600$ for them to do it
I'm wondering if i am really capable of this.... I've never done ANYTHING internally on a motor.
I i just need to know how hard is it really for a newb to do this

check my sig on "Parts Waiting to install" those are the ones id be installing (except for the tranny stuff)
i have checked ls1howto.com and read it several times but i just need to know from hands on experience.

I know ill need a pulley puller, spring tool, and some pen magnets (dont know what the hell they are for though ) any other special tools ill need?
Old 04-15-2005, 02:58 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

It's good for someone new at this sort of thing to have an extra pair of hands present in order to help out.

When I did my cam swap, I had a couple of buddies there to help out... and I was about as green as can be when it comes to modding before I started with this car.

Just make sure to print out the instructions, double check everything including your parts list, keep track of everything you take off the engine so its easier to find things when you want to put it back.
Old 04-15-2005, 03:03 PM
Staging Lane