Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Gen3 '04 suburban Oil pressure low

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2023, 12:59 PM
Teching In

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Gen3 '04 suburban Oil pressure low

Will try to cram as much into as few words so I respect everyone's time. and I'm not an expert at any of the below, so looking to listen and learn

'04 suburban 250k miles...always changed oil and filter every 5k. ran fine until my son had oil changed recently by Jiffy Lube, oil filter was not secured at the time, worked its was loose, bled oil, son called me from a gas station, I heard the ticking, told him to put oil in ticking went away, drove home, I noticed oil pressure down to 20, changed oil and filter (no flush or trans fluid), put in new oil sending unit, pressure dropped further (Assume the old one had aged tolerance), pulled pan and front end, put in new timing chain/gear, cam thrust plate, new melling pump and pickup tube (red o-ring), torqued all as spec'd, primed oil pump via side galley orifice, fired up....same result. Note: these is absolutely no ticking/tapping/etc. Sounds perfect. Drove 150 miles with the only issue being when I would stop, the oil pressure goes to almost nothing and low oil pressure warning comes on (but again no ticking or noise). Oil pressure at 2k rpm is about 25, but at 4k still below 40. I did not replace oil bypass valve as I didn't know what that was at the time (newby). I also have not rigged a manual oil pressure gauge to fit in the priming port as I need to figure out what parts I need (any help on that is appreciated).