Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How do you repair valve kissed pistons?

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2008, 07:24 AM
10 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do you repair valve kissed pistons?

I have a brand new block and pistons. I ended up having ptv clearance and notched my new pistons trying to start it. It's on all pistons but pretty small marks. Now I'm not sure if it is ok to run them the way they are or what I need to do to repair them. Please help.

Here is what the worst one looks like.
Old 09-23-2008, 07:58 AM
UNDER PRESSURE MOD

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts

Well, first things first, what did you do to increase your piston to valve clearance so that it doesn't happen again?

I'm no expert, but maybe some emory cloth on the high spots, and sharp edges to reduce the possiblity of hotspots and you should be okay. Once it runs for a little while, the carbon will build up and smooth out the spot.
Old 09-23-2008, 08:48 AM
10 Second Club

Originally Posted by The Alchemist
Well, first things first, what did you do to increase your piston to valve clearance so that it doesn't happen again?

I'm no expert, but maybe some emory cloth on the high spots, and sharp edges to reduce the possiblity of hotspots and you should be okay. Once it runs for a little while, the carbon will build up and smooth out the spot.
Changing heads and possibly cam. I'm only worried about the fixing the pistons right now.
Old 09-23-2008, 09:34 AM
TECH Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Pistons are fine, its your valves that are prob bent.
Old 09-23-2008, 09:46 AM
TECH Junkie

smooth them off and don't run n2o or boost
Old 09-23-2008, 09:50 AM
TECH Enthusiast

What are the specifics of your setup if u don't mind sharing.
Old 09-23-2008, 09:56 AM
10 Second Club

Originally Posted by teke184
smooth them off and don't run n2o or boost