Generation IV External Engine LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need help 08 c6 ls3 oil smells like gas

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2018, 06:52 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help 08 c6 ls3 oil smells like gas

Hi guys need help been reading for a bit heard it could be a leaking injector or raptured diaphragm but I'm kinda new to the ls motors. Where is the diaphragm located if u guys can find me a pic and how can I check it . Is there a way to test and see if the fuel injectors are bad....car does need to crank like 4 times before it actually fires up oil pressure cold is 40 and when hot gets near the 25. Car has 112000. I have another c6 ls3 feels completely different like it has more power

Thanks guys
Old 11-24-2018, 07:53 AM
Teching In

Bump up
Old 11-24-2018, 11:16 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

What do the plugs look like?
Old 11-24-2018, 12:18 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 603 Likes on 479 Posts
LS1Tech 10 Year

Injectors could be leaking once you turn it off.. Try a SEARCH on how to check them. Very easy.
Old 11-24-2018, 05:59 PM
Teching In

Previous owner did a full complete tune up about 8 months ago haven't checked the plugs yet going to do it tmm...and fuel injectors Idk guess I'll check them tmm aswell or look at the pistons from the spark plug hole see if one of the pistons are wet
Old 11-24-2018, 06:40 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

If there’s gas in the oil it means there’s either too much gas getting into one or more cylinders from a leaky injector or it could be the right amount of gas getting in there but not being fully combusted. Are you getting any misfires? Checking each cylinder temp at the exhaust manifold can help reveal a partially dead cylinder. Spark plugs should tell a lot too.

And make sure you don’t run it long on oil that’s thinned out with gasoline!
Old 11-27-2018, 04:40 PM
TECH Veteran