Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

Help with ls2 bottom end build

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2012, 12:37 AM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Help with ls2 bottom end build

So I'm a total noob, I know. I already put together a head/cam package for my ls2 using ls3 heads, ported l76 intake, spec'd cam(226/234 .598/.612) and supporting valvetrain. I wanted to put the ARP rod bolts in and found out that you have to resize the rod ends from the torque distortion. My initial plans were to leave the bottom end completely stock except for the ARP rod bolts, but I did a compression test on the motor stand and found that my # were all over the place. Looks like a have 3-4 bad cylinders, so now I have to rebuild the whole thing.
Now I need new piston rings, and with my cam I may need to flycut because I'm cutting the heads .024" to raise compression on the 821s. I started adding it up and 350 for flycutting at the machine shop, 150 for rings, and 80 for re sizing the rod ends is $580 just to make the stock junk work. So I'm thinking about new pistons and rods now instead, even though it's overkill for just a head/cam. I guess I can spray without worry though haha.

So I know nothing about LS bottom end stuff. I have a very limited budget can't afford a stroker rotating assembly right now. I just want to drop pistons and rods in the block for security, and to avoid paying flycutting and resizing. I want stock compression pistons and rods that will work with my factory ls2 crank. This way my head/cam package will still work nicely.

I found this piston/rod set on ebay, will it work for my stock ls2 setup? It says 402 in the title, but the bore is 4" and rod length is 6.125". What is stock ls2 rod length? Are SLP internals any good?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/SLP-Manley-4...sories&vxp=mtr