Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

L76 Aluminum block strength and overall engine build questions.

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2014, 09:34 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default L76 Aluminum block strength and overall engine build questions.

Got an L76 aluminum 6.0L block at the machine shop. Needs a slight bore to get it back in shape and because of this the stock pistons that were in it will be too small. Found some cheap factory replacement pistons that are .020" bigger. I have heard that these aluminum blocks are really strong, but the iron blocks are a little stronger. Will this .020" larger bore with a good hone weaken the cylinders enough to where I shouldn't pursue turboing it and pushing on it with forced induction?

I am trying to jump on the super cheap turbo LS bandwagon, but in the process learn about all of these different LS engine combinations and what not. I have no real experience working with one, but do a lot of reading online.

I was also told to source a set of 317 casting heads for this engine if I do want to go the turbo route, as they will lower the comp ration down a little bit and make it a little safer for turboing. The heads that came on this L76 that I have may be damaged beyond working with. I talked with TEA and sent them several pics of the heads that I pulled from my engine and they told me that I would probably sink too much money into them to get them back into shape to use. TEA is who suggested that I source a set of 317's if I were to go the turbo route. But, if this bore and hone actually weaken it too much and I run a risk of tearing it all up before I start leaning on it and trying to make some power I may scrap this whole engine and go with something different.