Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

LS2 -> 427ci build

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2007, 08:25 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LS2 -> 427ci build

Hey guys,

I'm new to this forum and live in Melbourne, Australia.

I was looking into purchasing a LS7 427ci crate motor but at $28000aus they are too pricey complete and due to our power to weight restrictions I cannot put this in my car and drive it on the road legally.

I have been offered a very good deal on a brand new HSV (Holden Special Vehicles) LS2 crate motor (300kw) with all accessories, loom, computer and Auto transmission. An absolute bargain!!!

Now since I'm new to LS1-LS7 engines and components I'm after some advice on what i want to achieve with this engine and the conversion i'm doing.

Basically I'm going to put the motor and box in as is, get it engineered and registered so its legal on our roads. Once done I can then take the motor out and change the internals to the application which I want. Stupid I know, but thats the law!

Anyways I'd like to know what needs to be done to the LS2 block to allow for the fitment of a 427ci balanced crank and rod assembly?

Also i'd like to keep the standard heads (L92 i believe?) but obviously they may need to be decked, machined bored out etc etc??

The camshaft on the other hand... I would like to use something streetable, but do want a nice LUMP.

I assume the standard throttle body will be ok as its 90mm (as per the standard LS7 motor) and the manfold etc will be ok.

Any help, links, advice and recommended parts would be greatly appreciated. I will post up pics of the chasis and full vehicle very soon.

Cheers

George
Melbourne, Australia.
Old 04-03-2007, 08:38 PM
TECH Apprentice

Do they actually check the power to know it exceeds any laws?
Old 04-03-2007, 08:49 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by AaronR
Do they actually check the power to know it exceeds any laws?