Introductions & Greetings New to the site? Say hello!

New to N/A

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2007 | 07:58 PM
Teching In

Default New to N/A

Hello all.

I'm a owner of a turbo vehicle and have lots of knowledge in that area, but I'm new to N/A power. I am about to buy a LS1 car and am trying to gain some knowledge on this type of engine.

From my research so far here on this forum it looks like the LS1 is pretty stout and can make power real easy with simple bolt-ons. I'm wondering, does anybody have any suggestions on what exhausts manufacturers are best? Same question for headers and cams/heads.

I'm going to be getting this stuff at some point so was just curious if people had opinions. I'm going to be using the car for primarily a street car, but want power for occasional track days of all sorts (road course, drag, autocross). Looking for best "all-around" setup.
Old 02-21-2007 | 08:26 PM
12 Second Club

welcome and all of your questions depend on your budget
Old 02-21-2007 | 08:29 PM
TECH Fanatic

Check out texas-speed.com. You'll want to start out with the basic mods: Intake and exhaust. Get a lid, ls6 intake (unless you got an 01-02 f-body, they come with the LS6 intake), longtube headers, and a true dual exhaust. That, along with an underdrive pulley and you're looking at 350-360 rwhp with a good tune.
Old 02-21-2007 | 09:02 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by austin21
welcome and all of your questions depend on your budget
Yes, very true. I learned that lesson the hard way with my turbo car.

I'm guessing that I'm gonna have around $2K to play with over the first six months on the engine. Car I'm getting has the T56. It's a 2001 model so I think it has the LS6 intake mani. I need to check to be sure though.