LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

another budget 355 build

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2011, 11:51 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default another budget 355 build

So I'm looking into dropping some cash into a 355 build . I am considering using the gm847 cam I just have a few bottom end questions as I am fairly new to doing this I have done top ends before but nothing this complicated but I am never one to back down from a challenge. I want to utilize the stock crank and go with forged rods and pistons I have researched a lot and found a lot of people have chosen speed pro pistons . Are these reliable ? Any idea where to get for best price ? Also brand and best price for rods ? Dome or flat top ? I may use a small nitrous shot down the road . Also for the heads which valve springs would be recommended for the gm847 .... also please don't bash on my cam choice I like the mid to top end power . I would just like some info on what you fellas would build with about 4500 bucks . Thanks
Old 06-10-2011, 11:57 AM
Staging Lane

If was going to get a new motor again, I would buy one already built. I spent about the same building my 355, put 1,000 miles on it, then put it in storage.

The biggest advice I can give you is have good plan for why you are building the motor and what you are going to use it for. Then stick to it.

I'm trying to sell my motor now, for half of what you're looking to spend, so PM me if you are interested. Fully forged, nitrous rings, CC306 cam and lots of other goodies. Heck, for way less than you have budgeted I can even include a full direct port nitrous setup!
Old 06-11-2011, 12:03 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by RacerTim
If was going to get a new motor again, I would buy one already built. I spent about the same building my 355, put 1,000 miles on it, then put it in storage.