LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

oil light/engine light/temp?

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2012, 01:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default oil light/engine light/temp?

Ok so i had a low oil light come up on my car, (just bought the thing) but i changed my oil and i know it's got lots in there.. light never went off. Now when i drive it, its got great oil pressure of course, but once it get up to temp (just changed thermostat and rad cap aswell) the engine light will come on and the temp will drop from the middle down to about 1/4 way up the gauge.. it stays there for most the way i'll drive it withing half an hour.

I'm new to these cars but i was almost thinking the car will purposely run cooler when that oil light is on, even thought i know i have 5 quarts of oil in there..

does anybody know what's up? It's my daily and i'm 18 and half *** savvy with the lt1's
Old 06-15-2012, 01:41 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

No it does not purposely run cooler with low oil lol....very odd. What temp is the gauge at? Could just be a bad oil level sensor and the SES light is an unrelated issue...get somebody to pull the codes and find out what's triggering the light.
Old 06-15-2012, 01:57 PM

well i'm thinking it's the sensor but, i don't know why it throws the ses light and runs cooler.. temp is at 140ish? just an estimate.. i have a 180 thermostat which i believe works great as it's brand new and does at first go up as usual until the ses light and it drops and stays around 140ish.

it's a 95, and god knows most people weren't nice to these cars, especially since i'm 4th owner.
Old 06-15-2012, 02:01 PM
TECH Enthusiast