LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

HD water pump LTx ????

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2012, 07:23 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HD water pump LTx ????

Does anyone know of a company selling HD LTx water pumps?? Don't know if there really is a HD pump on the market.

Thanks
Old 07-06-2012, 07:46 AM
11 Second Club

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

Stock is far and away the highest flow pump available. Moves 66gmp as installed on the engine. The electrics have varying FREEFLOW ratings up to 55gpm but based on guys seeing RAISED coolant temps at cruise with electric pumps the stocker outflows all of the electrics by 2500 engine rpms.

The electrics do flow more at idle..........................when the engine is making no heat to speak of.
Old 07-06-2012, 02:52 PM
8 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

This is the heavy duty pump that I have been running for many years. Flows more than you will need.

http://www.meziere.com/ps-813-781-wp118hd.aspx
Old 07-06-2012, 03:06 PM
11 Second Club

As said those with street cars find raised coolant temps at cruise with the electric pumps. Not overheating but higher than with the mechanical.

I am not saying electrics are without purpose or bad, just urging some vague understanding which is usually quite unwelcome.

The 66gpm figure I spoke of is from an SAE document on the LT1 cooling system, again the electrics are all freeflow rated.

For a drag car the ability to cool down between passes certainly makes an electric worthwhile, for a roadrace car they are often found insufficient and for a street/strip car well you have to decide if the .1 is worth the greater possibility of sudden complete coolant flow stoppage be it from the pump motor dying or an electrical fault. The mechanical will usually weep and let you know well in advance so you can change it before it really fails.