LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Cooling Fans Problem! HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2012, 07:20 PM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cooling Fans Problem! HELP!

I know, I know...I am having a lot of cooling issues lol. Ok, I have been trying to diagnose a fan problem for a while now and I am stumped. I am not good at reading schematics or diagrams so I need a little help here. This is what is happening...

Nothing............at all. Nothing when it reaches temp, nothing when I turn the car on or off, nothing when I unplug sensors, nothing when I jump relays, nothing when I turn on my SLP fan switch...They only turn on when I apply DIRECT power to the fans themselves...

This is what I have tested so far...

I have constant hot at the 10A fuse in the fuse box.
I have constant hot on 1 pin EACH on Relays 1 and 2, NO constant hot on relay 3.
I have good ground on all 3 relays
I have good ground on the pigtail to each fan
I have power on 1 pin on Relay 3 when I turn on the fan switch.
Coolant temp sensors are reading according to dash gauges and my laptop
Fans are set to turn on at 180/190
I can apply direct power to the fans and they turn on
I have traded out all 3 relays with the fan switch on and nothing happened

I have been trying to read the diagram linked below, but I am VERY bad with them, so I have only learned a little bit from it...I know that Relays 1 and 2 should have a constant hot wire, but does Relay 3?? Also, I just now learned what wires signal the fans to turn on from the PCM, so I am going to check those in a minute, but Other than that I am at a complete loss...

http://shbox.com/1/fan_schematic_1995.jpg

Also, I have converted my PCM from OBD2 to OBD1...I THOUGHT they worked properly after the swap but I can't remember 100% if they did or not...is there any problems with this setup and the fans or should it work fine? I know the 93-95's use a 2 Relay system and 96-97 use a 3 Relay system...