LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

383 LT1 road race engine water pump gear failure... why?

Old 06-20-2013, 09:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 383 LT1 road race engine water pump gear failure... why?

Hi everybody, new guy here. Quick intro: I do LT1 engine swaps in Porsche 944's, or at least I used to. I moved to a different job a few years ago and no longer produce the kits, but I still keep in touch with some of the owners of the 13 cars I built. Recently I've gotten back involved with one that I built as a NASA road race car about 6 years ago and have purchased a stake in the car to share it. Back when I worked on this car we won 3 consecutive NASA GTS championships with it, but since I left that shop the car has been having constant troubles which is what led the owner to seek me out. I'm a euro car tech and my knowledge of V8's is very limited, so I come here seeking some education.

The guys that were taking care of the car seem to have tried to make up for unreliability by adding horsepower and failed miserably; in the cars last 10 races it finished a total of zero due to engine trouble. I'm trying to sort it out, but don't have tons of dollars to throw at it. I had thought I had gone through enough things and tests to have a crack at a race weekend with it. After 3 sessions a polylock came loose and damaged threads to the stud ended the first day, luckily Summit Racing is only an hour from Road Atlanta. Day 2 made 3 laps before the engine suddenly overheated.

Tear down has revealed that the water pump drive has no teeth left on the gear and the cam sprocket is destroyed as well.

Any ideas why this would happen? I am the kind of person that MUST know why before simply reassembling; I do not want a repeat! The water pump spins freely and the bearing on the water pump drive gear spins freely. I can't run an electric pump due to space. Is there a recommended aftermarket timing set to run? Aftermarket water pump drive?