LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Catback?

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2006, 08:39 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Catback?

I was just curious about something. I have a 94 Z28 with LT headers and the matching Y-pipe. Should I get some type of catback to go with it? I have a flowmaster muffler which gives me some back pressure. I'm pretty sure after the Y-pipe, it connects to the stock pipe all the way to the back into an 80 series flowmaster. That pipe really isn't that small. I think it's 2 and 1/2. The Y-pipe is 3. Will I notice any gain putting a catback on it, or will it just be a waste and my car is fine the way it is?

I personally thought it wouldn't make a difference, but I'm not sure. Anyone know? The car sounds pretty free flowing the way it is.
Old 01-29-2006, 09:28 PM
12 Second Club

i personally would because you will get more hp out of it with a 3 inch catback.....if you want cheap, throw in a cut-out.
Old 01-29-2006, 11:13 PM
Launching!

yeah I agree. I am doing one of two things on mine. I am doing either a full true duels chambered which I am unsure of since I live in Michigan and our roads suck. So I will probably go with an electric cut-out. listen to some clips www.ls1sounds.com will tell it how it is. You may seem to be a waste of time listening to cars on the net for hours but its the research you need to do if you want to find that one badass sound that fits you. I personally want something that girls will say "holly **** you drive a race car to college everyday!" Thats me but it might not be you.

So basically long tubes and off road y-pipe manditory.

But cat-back is a sciences and personal preference. Go with your gut on this one. I made too many mistakes on choosing cat-backs for my last cars, which were imports. Now imports are hard to make sound good. So at least if you **** up picking at cat-back on this car it will still sound kinda badass.