Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

2nd Gear Grinding...

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2008, 01:07 AM
TECH Resident

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default 2nd Gear Grinding...

First off, im gonna go ahead and let you guys know.. I'm a complete transmission noob....
With that being said, lets continue..

On my way to work today, i noticed some grinding when trying to go into 2nd. It just does it for a second, but once its actually in 2nd there's no more grinding. But, it sucks. and sounds horrible.
Occasionally the shifter would pop out of 3rd on its own when i let out the clutch, but i assume it only happened when i wasn't paying much attention, because i would put it back in third, and make sure it was completely in gear before letting out the clutch again and it was fine..
I also noticed if i'm going pretty slow, i can sometimes shift into 2nd without it grinding, but thats usually before i would normally shift into 2nd. (Around 10 mph or so)

I searched, found some stuff, but honestly like i said, im a noob when it comes to the trans... Is there anything i should look for before i think about bringing it to the dealer? It's still got a warranty, so if anything needs replacing, it's going there..
Old 11-18-2008, 01:20 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The grinding is your 1/2 synchro slider, the teeth are worn most likely. Popping out of 3rd is also very common... It is your slider keys most likely. Buy the parts from Gearbox they have great prices
Old 11-18-2008, 01:28 AM
TECH Resident

Any idea on what would cause it to happen all of a sudden? Or a price on parts?

If anything needs to be replaced, i won't be doing it. I severely lack the knowledge, and at this point the tools too.. My dad isn't very big on transmissions either... But i'm pretty damn sure it should be covered by my warranty, in which case would cost me like $54 to fix..
Old 11-18-2008, 01:34 AM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by bill12690