Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

tick master cylinder problem

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2010, 11:14 PM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default tick master cylinder problem

i have a tick master cylinder installed and it works great, BUT, there is an inch or maybe more of dead play at the top of the pedal that i cannot seem to get rid of.

suggestions for how to solve this???

thanks
tony
Old 03-25-2010, 11:50 PM
Launching!

Is your clutch pedal slightly lower then the brake pedal?
Old 03-26-2010, 12:09 AM
TECH Regular

no, its much lower

its so much lower, that the cruise control isn't working because the pedal doesn't come up high enough to engage the sensor.

tony
Old 03-26-2010, 12:37 AM
Launching!

I would try bringing it up so the clutch pedal is only slightly lower then the brake pedal then go from there. From what i have read on here that is the starting point for adjusting the clutch pedal.
Old 03-26-2010, 01:07 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

You can pop the end of the sensor out for the cruise, has two peices that fit through where it holds it in. Squeeze them together then its out and you can adjust it.

The play in the clutch pedal is about the same on mine so i think its fine. I think if you twist the sensor in far enough that it will restrict the play in the pedal, I don't care enough to do it myself but if it bothers you that much then that is what i suggest to fix it.

Hope this helps man.
Old 03-26-2010, 05:28 AM
TECH Regular

yeah its pretty annoying.

i have the cruise control adjusted all the way out, and its still about 2 inches short of the pedal.

not too worried about the cruise, i can rig something up later. but would like to get all this free play adjusted out.

tony
Old 03-26-2010, 09:46 AM
11 Second Club