Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Need help with vibration and shifting issues- 2005 GTO

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2013, 08:01 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help with vibration and shifting issues- 2005 GTO

Ok, so I'll be as descriptive as I can. The story begins-

Bought the car a year ago from the dealer I work at. I am a GM tech. Only mods were K&N intake, muffler deletes, some gay chrome wheels, and GMM Ripshift street shifter. 66k miles.

Bought it without even test driving it, had 3 bald tires and donut spare on rear. The 4th was in the trunk and had blown. Otherwise car was in pretty good shape for the money I paid.

Put on 4 new tires and drove it for a month. Had a minor vibration at 120, but nothing major.

Noticed my driveshaft center bearing was starting to tear so I found a used one piece aluminum Driveshaft shop shaft and adapter. Put and a Pedders rear diff mount insert in on a Friday at work and went to the local 1/8 mile track that night. Had bad wheelhop, enough that the driveshaft hit the rear seatbelt bolt.

Drove it on the highway the next day and had a severe vibration at 65 and faster. Over 100 shakes the car and makes loud humming type noise, but not a wheel bearing hum. It is speed related, not rpm or gear dependent. At 110 if you push in the clutch the vibration does not get worse but the hum noise is louder. Put the stock driveshaft and diff mount back in and vibration is still there.

Sometimes does not go into first easily, have to let the clutch out and push it back in then force it into gear. Clunks into gears when shifting, second is worse. Won't go into third sometimes when shifting at wot. Even with the car off, sometimes it clunks hard/loud or won't go into first. At a stoplight sometimes when I force it into first it feels like the car kind of lurches forward, but not like a clutch not disengaging.

WHATS NOT CAUSING IT: