Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Double Clutching?

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2004, 02:01 PM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Double Clutching?

I did a search for "what is double clutching?" and I didn't get anything or I just gave up reading through the endless threads ! I am not new to driving a standard but I am new to driving a performance one. SOOOOO what is double clutching? I have some more questions too but I think I will bring those up later if I can't find a "search" for them. Thanks for your help guys.
Old 12-14-2004, 03:17 PM
TECH Regular

Double clutching is, revving the engine, clutch engaged, shifter in neutral to get both sides of the transmisson spinning at the same speed when you downshift. Not necassary on our cars because of synchronizers. It is a good idea to bring the rpms up before letting the clutch out when you downshift however. Try searching for rev matching, which is what I just described, there have been a few long posts about rev matching and double clutching.
Old 12-14-2004, 04:10 PM
TECH Addict

Ricers like to double clutch.
Old 12-14-2004, 04:42 PM
Kleeborp the Moderator™

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Did you just get done watching the Fast and the Furious? Just curious...

You don't double clutch cars with synchros. It is just not needed. That is the synchro's job.

You are thinking of powershifting, which involves leaving the gas to the floor while you rip into the next gear. This puts a fair amount of stress on your driveline, but will make you faster.

I, for one, granny shift (just normal shifting). I am also slow. Therefore, don't ask me how to shift if you want to go fast. But the above is what I know.
Old 12-15-2004, 11:16 AM
TECH Enthusiast