Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Clutch stuck down!

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2008, 09:48 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clutch stuck down!

I know, there is a HUGE sticky on the issue. I am a relative newbie to most of this so go easy on me. I go to get in the car for work this morning and the clutch is stuck completely down on the floor. Eventually got it into neutral but clutch is still stuck down and car won't go into gear at all.
This is from the Manual Transmission forum, I need some help quickly as I'm going to need my car for work soon!

I wasn't driving the car hard yesterday as I drove a lot of highway miles with little shifting. I guess when I parked I had no idea the clutch was even stuck down as I got out.

Either way, fucked with it for a few minutes and got a friend to drop me off at work.

As a newbie, what is the first and easiest thing to do to try and fix this problem here?

I don't have any clutch slipping / grinding whatsoever. The car has 53k miles and is a 2000 z-28. I never had ANY problems up until now since I bought it used about 3 months ago.
Old 06-02-2008, 09:59 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

could be that the circle clip came off where the petal and the master cylinder connect. Check to make sure the silver piece coming through the firewall is connected through the pedal. THe clip goes on after they are connected.

You will have to pretty much get in your car head first looking up under the steering wheel... its definately an interesting position. Grab a flashlight too. Oh, and if its stock you probably have to take off the panel under there... i think its 4 8mm screws? Been a while since ive been under there. If you know where the OBD2 scanner port is your in the right area.

If its not that, you probably have a leak somewhere and will need to replace whatever it is and bleed it.
Old 06-02-2008, 10:03 AM
Staging Lane