Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

McLeod twin disk issues.

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2008, 07:44 PM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default McLeod twin disk issues.

I have just installed a McLeod twin disk. The gaps have been measured to .020 on the gaps between the floater disk and the clutch disks. The problem we are having is upon start up of the car with the clutch fully pressed, it does not fully disengage. The car jumps. I have a stock master( I have known several people who use them with out issues) and stock slave with the shim behind the slave.
I have purchased the clutch used and everything looks almost new. It is the 3 prong PP. I have read the directions and there seems to be a blue line you are supposed to line up. There was no blue line. How important is said blue line? I figured if everything mated it would be fine.Oops.

Thanks guys.
Old 07-19-2008, 10:22 PM
11Second Club

I have a McLeod RXT street twin. It sounds like a different clutch from yours. If the clutch was bought including the flywheel, then the blue line was most likely an indicator of how the pieces were all oriented when they were balanced. So, it shouldn't have any impact on the issue you're describing.

I was having major clutch disengagement issues with my setup until today. Previously I was using a Ram master cylinder (which is just like a stocker, but adjustable), and today I installed a new McLeod master cylinder (which has a bigger bore and pushes more fluid). My disengagement issues are now gone.

When you run a twin disk, it requires more movement from the slave to fully disengage the clutch. Without a master cylinder that moves more fluid than stock (McLeod is the only one that fits this bill), the clutch will probably never disengage properly... even if you get an adjustable Ram and adjust it all the way out... even if you shim the slave... both of which I tried before buying the McLeod.