Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

1st gear?

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2008, 09:07 PM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 1st gear?

hey guys im new to the m6 world, i just completed the swap a few weeks ago. i am now noticing that the car doesnt like to go into first while im rolling. say in coming to a stop sign and i press the clutch in and try to grab first before i stop (clutch in the entire time) then i will already be in first when i want to take off. the trans doesnt want to go into 1st when i do this. so i started to wait until i was going slower like under 10. well now i feel the gears kinda grinding (doesnt make a grinding noise i just feel it) and itll clunk in while i roll to a stop. Only when i am fully stopped does it act normal like its ok to go into first. is this normal?
Old 09-01-2008, 09:22 PM
TECH Apprentice

Don't force it in.. Just get to almost complete stop then put into first or just keep it in second if you're still rolling enough. If you're rolling and NEED it to go into 1st easier, push in clutch, give a little pop of throttle and it should open up a bit for you (you'll feel it open and will go in easier) but when just rolling to stop either keep it in the gear you downshifted to (if you downshifted) or just put it in neutral till you're under 5mph..
Old 09-01-2008, 09:47 PM
TECH Addict

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Keep in mind that the transmission is ALWAYS spinning parts on the inside even with the clutch disengaged.

Think about how fast the internals are going compared to the speed you pushed in the clutch at and think how fast the internals would be spinning trying to push into first, even with syncros, it's far too fast for you to get it in gear smoothly. In other words, it's NOT blocked, it's simply moving too fast for you to push into gear.