Military Hotrod Club For our members in the Armed Forces

I need help, US Army...

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2008, 04:46 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I need help, US Army...

I am an E-4 promotable in the reserves, I am set to go to psu in the fall as a contracted cadet however I just ran into an unexpected financial burdon of between $3,000-5,000 !!! I do not have the means to pay for this, some students have run into the same issue and had to go bankrupt! I think the only way to pay is to volunteer for a tour to iraq. I have no family, friends, or any means what so ever in any way shape or form to cover this cost so I think a deployment is the only way. Which also means bye bye psu...

I need to know what options I have as a volunteer soldier, I have 2 MOS's so I don't know which one I would go as, or if I could ask to go as another MOS. I know that they have crash course trained soldiers as MP's over there, and civil affairs etc. I just do not know how it works, or if I should take that route as a sollution. I don't know what to do or how to go about this. What my options are or what they are not.

I also wondered if certain gear I should buy myself. Such as an ACH, I cannot STAND the old style kevlars, but didn't know if I would be getting new gear when in theater or if I would be using stuff from my unit (crap gear). I would rather buy an ACH on my own as well as my own IBA instead of going there and having to deal with crap gear for 12 months.
Old 05-26-2008, 05:03 PM
Launching!

Received 8 Likes on 4 Posts