Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Non Warranty-voiding mods?

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2008, 11:06 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Non Warranty-voiding mods?

Anyone know what mods are ok to not viod an aftermarket warranty? I'm at the start of a three year bumper to bumper warranty and don't really want to void it as I am still relatively new to this car and don't know what will go? Just wondering. Thanks

Last edited by oddwraith; 12-10-2008 at 11:07 AM. Reason: spelling
Old 12-10-2008, 11:25 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by oddwraith
Anyone know what mods are ok to not viod an aftermarket warranty? I'm at the start of a three year bumper to bumper warranty and don't really want to void it as I am still relatively new to this car and don't know what will go? Just wondering. Thanks
Any mod technically voids a warranty. Some dealerships will work on a modded vehicle for the profit, however others will reject it because if something goes wrong, they do not want to be help responsible.

Most of the time if you have something like a cat-back or intake its no big deal. But you can't stick a blower on the car, blow up the trans, and then go to the dealership and say WTF.

I have heard of dealerships however that will not touch a car with something changed. On the other hand I have heard of dealerships that have taken in full bolt-on and sometimes cam-only cars depending on what the problem is.
Old 12-10-2008, 12:25 PM
TECH Apprentice

Usually a CAI or cat back will be fine, but it mostly depends on the dealership. I would talk to service where you would have warranty work done and ask them what their policy is.
Old 12-10-2008, 07:13 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 56 Likes on 45 Posts

Magnuson-Moss Act. Read this link:

http://www.impalaclub.com/naisso/magmoss.htm