New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Building a LSx motor, need some input.

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2010, 10:42 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Building a LSx motor, need some input.

Hi, first post......need a little direction.

I am fairly new to what is interchangeable on the LS motors since this will be my first LS build.

I am looking to build an engine to go into my RX7 FC chassis. I already have the LS mount kit and a T56 trans that I have went through and installed mew bearings, the update kit and upgraded syncros. It is ready or a nice stout engine.

My goal power without any adders is around 500-525whp or more on 93 octane. It seems like a reasonable goal and a reliable one if I use good components.

I am willing to do rods/pistons and I have access to a machine shop to modify anything I want.

Should I start with a LS1 longblock or go with the LS2?
What intake should I use?
I already have Hinson Performance mid length 1-3/4" primary headers (3" collector)

Basically, I need some solid, proven, ideas on what direction I should go.
Old 11-04-2010, 06:46 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

ls2 + l92 heads + fast 102mm intake + EPS cam.
Old 11-04-2010, 07:46 AM
Internet Mechanic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

If you find yourself even a LS3 Short Block, that would work as well. Give you a larger bore.
Old 11-05-2010, 08:54 PM

Okay, with the FAST intake, what throttle body should I use? Can I just get a LS2 and use all of the sensors and components with the L92 heads? I will need alternator brackets, alt, P/S, A/C...etc. Or do I have to get the truck brackets to make it all work together?