Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Spark plugs / Tune up

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2013, 02:17 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Spark plugs / Tune up

Hey guys, im completely new to cars. Always wanted to learn how to work on cars but dont have very much experience. I have a 2001 firebird formula and im getting ready to do a tune up on it, this will be my first time doing this so im a little worried lol. But anyway, ive been looking through the site and saw ngk plugs are what most people use, so i went up to autozone to get some. Ended up getting some ngk gp platinums and the guy said "youre going to use ngk on a chevrolet engine, ac delco would be better", so thats what led me here. Are the ones i got fine? And im doing msd wires. Im also wanting to get more power, but i also dont have that great of a job to spend a ton on it, ive been looking at getting a volant cold air intake since its not too much and i would probably be abke to do it on my own. Anyone have any ideas of what i could do to get more power to it without spending a fortune and something that someone like me could possibly do on my own?
Old 09-08-2013, 02:25 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

He's right the AC Delco plugs are a better choice since they are iridium tipped not platinum but those will work.
Old 09-08-2013, 02:42 PM
Teching In

Ok, im really unsure on doing it myself. I just looked and the back one on the passenger side and that looks very frustrating for someone who has never messed with something like this.
Old 09-08-2013, 03:28 PM
Teching In

I got my NGK plugs and MSD wires from Nasty Nate Performance. $77 bucks shipped isn't bad at all.