Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

98 z28 low dyno numbers.

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2017, 10:39 AM
Teching In

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 98 z28 low dyno numbers.

Hey guys, I just bought my 98 z28 and boy can I say it's a world of a difference from my old 2v. The car itself has a 01-02 ls6 intake, longtunes headers, cat delete, and x pipe with bullet muffler dumps after the doors. The car also seems to have a off brand slp lid(but looks exactly the same outside and inside) and a upgraded washable filter. 3.73 gears, and a t56 swap.The car also has a dyno tune at Whitehorse racing in dallas. All the mods were done by the previous owner. He claims it put down 300rwhp and 330tq to the wheels. I have a short video of him with it on the dyno, but he didn't show numbers in video. But from what I'm hearing these numbers seem to be low. I'm still learning and I'm just glad to finally be a ls1 owner https://youtu.be/ZLIdx5jA8XE
Old 04-03-2017, 01:15 PM
LS1Tech Administrator

Received 1,493 Likes on 1,075 Posts

Welcome.

I would agree that the dyno numbers are low for an M6 LS1 with LT headers/LS6 intake/lid/ORX & duals plus a dyno tune. You should be at least ~30rwhp higher. 300rwhp (+/- ~10rwhp) is more typical of a stock M6 LS1 car.

Having said that, sometimes dyno numbers don't tell the whole story. You might get a low dyno result, but still run quarter mile trap speeds that are similar to other examples of comparable weight that dyno quite a bit higher. So it's important not to obsessively focus on peak dyno numbers. What's more important is if you have a before and after dyno for those mods, especially if it was on the same dyno/same weather/same operator - at that point you can evaluate the difference to determine what improvement the mods have given you. Doesn't sound like that's the case here, but that would be more useful information than just a peak number.