New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Should I upgrade my 2001 z28 with SLP parts?

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2019, 05:09 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Should I upgrade my 2001 z28 with SLP parts?

Hi there! I've got a 4spd auto z28 and I love kt. But it's too quiet. I live in California and with the new exhaust fine crap going on I know I shouldn't waste money on "modifying" my exhaust... But what if I could track down some "factory" SS SLP exhaust parts, like the LM2 and maybe a 2002 SLP airbox lid? Would this make my z28 sound better? Right now it's got the stock square pipes. I'm a noob to modifying cars. Thanks in advance for any input!
Old 01-27-2019, 06:21 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

The lid would probably get you 12 RWHP or so, and a "Loud Mouth 2" would definitely make your car louder. If you can do that and get away with it in that... state... I would go for it.
Old 01-27-2019, 06:22 PM
LS1Tech Administrator

Received 1,492 Likes on 1,074 Posts

The LM2 was not a "factory" SLP offering on any SS car, so this would not be considered stock. The only SLP exhaust upgrade which was available to be ordered on a new SS for your model year was the "dual/dual" system (which uses a traditional crossflow muffler in the factory location rather than the I-pipe mounted bullet muffer of LM1/2).

The SLP dual/dual system offers extremely good flow (as good as any aftermarket catback) but only a slight increase in noise. It pairs well with an ORY/LT headers because it generally keeps rasp away. With factory cats and manifolds, it will in fact be a bit louder than your current base system but only marginally so. However, it's a nice improvement in flow over the base V8 system (in addition to the muffler upgrade, it also replaces the 2.75" factory I-pipe with a true 3" unit.)