Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

6.0 runs rich with 58 psi fuel pressure

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2020, 09:26 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 6.0 runs rich with 58 psi fuel pressure

I'm new to the LS world and have had quite a few issues with this swap. My truck is a 1999 Chevy K3500 dually, had a 5.7 with a 4L80E. I've been working on swapping a bone stock 2006 6.0 lq9, with another 4L80E fewer miles. I got my fuel psi back down to 58 psi but the truck still runs rich. 2 new upstream O2 sensors, new plugs and wires.
The problem now is with the vacuum hose for the brake booster. The truck has hydroboost brakes. If i plug the vacuum hose, it won't idle. Runs good at higher rpms but no idle. Runs rough with vacuum hose unplugged..
Any ideas??
Old 09-11-2020, 06:22 AM
12 Second Club

Received 176 Likes on 129 Posts

If you just swapped engines, but kept the older PCM, then you need a new tune. The rich condition could be fixed with a tune. The rough idle is probably another tune issue. Do you have HP tuners?
Old 09-11-2020, 03:41 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by Utinator
If you just swapped engines, but kept the older PCM, then you need a new tune. The rich condition could be fixed with a tune. The rough idle is probably another tune issue. Do you have HP tuners?
No, just a stock swap. I have the original PCM, and had the harness modified to a stand alone. The guy that built the harness said he flashed the PCM, asked about my trans and tire size
Old 09-11-2020, 03:43 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by WGreen75
No, just a stock swap. I have the original PCM, and had the harness modified to a stand alone. The guy that built the harness said he flashed the PCM, asked about my trans and tire size
"The original 6.0 PCM" The engine PCM and harness came out of the donor truck
Old 09-11-2020, 04:33 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 365 Likes on 251 Posts