Northwest Members WA, OR, ID, MT, WY, SD, ND

Bent pushrod?

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2013, 01:27 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bent pushrod?

So i got off the hwy on my way home sat and heard a faint slapping noise almost like piston slap i used to get on cold mornings in my mustangs except it sounded more like it was coming from the driver side head.. then I pulled away from the stop sign and above 2k rpm it got louder and faster. I wasn't racing anyone, didn't downshift to slow down and miss a gear; just completely out of the blue. Anyways, I'm being told its a bent push-rod. I have never done it before, doesn't look too challenging of a task... So anyways i have a few questions, one being a favor..

1. With an unknown spec cam, can i just measure the length of the ones i take out and buy same length and they will fit or is there more to it than that?

2. what are some good options for push-rods? assuming i do have ls6 heads that have been ported. (find out once i get vc off) also what should i avoid?

3. do i need new springs or rockers as well? less than 15k on engine since built.. To me it sounds like a rocker or 4 are damaged too...

4. what all will i need to purchase to do the job myself? I was thinking all i need is the gasket for vc and push-rods..

5. I have a gravel driveway with no garage and sadly no tools since i gave most of my stuff to my dad when my wife and I moved in together years ago.. Does anyone have garage space and most of the tools i may need as well as jack and stands that i could use for a day? I can look up a guide or buy a service manual and do it myself but i wouldn't mind pointers along the way if anyone would like to help.. I haz beer and am professional chef, maybe if I could trade a catering gig or cook for all your guys at the shop in trade of labor? just an idea.. either way I would be bringing food and booze for the assistance and probably order pizza as we go.