Paint & Body Work Custom Painting | Panel Repairs & Replacement

I just started painting my car ...PROBLEM SOLVED!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2012, 12:39 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default I just started painting my car ...PROBLEM SOLVED!!

Hey guys,

I'm so pissed right now. All this body work and prep work I've been doing for the past weeks might have gone to waste. I just finished all the body work on my car and started painting yesterday around 3pm. Temp outside was around 78 degrees. I applied 3 coats of base reduced 1:1 with nothing else added. I allowed 10-15 mins for flash time. Then I sprayed 3 coats of clear...4:1 clear/hardner, 10% reducer and nothing else added. Again i allowed 10-15 mins for flash. I was shooting out of a 1.4 tip. The temp in my booth was about 80-85 degrees +/-. Everything looked good at first. Then once I was finished spraying the clear I went outside to take a break and let it sit. I came back 5 mins later and started noticing that I was getting cracks all over the car. 1/4 panels, jams, engine bay, everywhere...

Here's a few pics. What do you think went wrong???

I don't get it. I've sprayed a few panels here and there, but never an entire car, and this never happened.

Too much hardner in the clear for the temp in the booth?
Not enough flash time between coats of either base or clear?
Base coat wasn't dry enough to apply clear coat?
Not enough flash time?

This happened last night BTW.

Now today I went back in my garage and wet sanded a spot on the core support with 800 grit that had the cracks. I sanded all the clear off and noticed that the base still looked cracked but was smooth now. So I'm thinking the cracks were in the base coat because I can still see the cracks but I cannot feel them. I mean it's smooth as glass.

Here is what I need to know...
What went wrong?