PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

help me with knock retard

Old 02-28-2016, 12:57 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help me with knock retard

I need help understanding knock retard. I get the gist of it but I'm new to tuning so my knowledge is limited.

so I need to be educated on how to look for it in logs like the "whys" I can physically find the knock in the log but I need to be schooled on why I'm getting it or if its really knocking to begin with and then what to do to alleviate it.

car is a 98z stock motor 3600stall, lts, udp, unoiled k&n, p&p stock maf, ls1 intake still, msd plug wires,3.42's
Attached Files
File Type: hpl
wot.tst2.hpl (618.6 KB, 135 views)
wot.tst1.hpl (678.6 KB, 89 views)
File Type: xml
chart2.Charts.xml (5.2 KB, 221 views)
98zlogging2.Channels.xml (1.4 KB, 56 views)
AFR Error.MathParameter.xml (187 Bytes, 87 views)
wideband1.MathParameter.xml (159 Bytes, 104 views)
98Zlogging2.Layout.xml (20.2 KB, 375 views)
File Type: hpt
98z3.0ip+WB+egr.hpt (449.2 KB, 54 views)

Last edited by Drj8787; 02-28-2016 at 01:36 PM.
Old 02-28-2016, 04:52 PM
TECH Apprentice

Anyone out there
Old 02-28-2016, 08:12 PM
TECH Resident

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

Reduce the WOT spark timing to 24*. The 1998's have too much timing as stock. And there is something wrong with B2S1 O2, as it's over 1.1 V. What are the fuel trims doing on that bank?

Russ Kemp
Old 02-28-2016, 08:37 PM
TECH Apprentice

Its a sim from the wideband on that side it's programable does it need an adjustment?

Last edited by Drj8787; 02-28-2016 at 09:36 PM.
Old 02-29-2016, 01:17 AM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

First off '98s had extra special knock sensor problems.
If you don't know the pedigree of yours, I'd replace
with whatever's the generally accepted.

Next, KR comes on too hard and hangs around too long
to let you see much about why. I like to cut the attack
rate by half and double the decay rate. You still keep