Sponsored by:

Idle tuning - Megasquirt 2 + TSP 228R + Milled 862

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2018, 09:20 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Idle tuning - Megasquirt 2 + TSP 228R + Milled 862

Hey guys,
I'm new to learning tuning, but am feeling overwhelmed with the information. Right now I'm trying to get the idle tuned on my LS.

Engine is a 5.3L fresh rebuild, dished pistons with -8cc dish.
Removed swirl ramp from heads, and removed rocker bump. That's all the porting.
Had heads milled .030".
New push rods 7.375" with LS7 lifters.
Cam is TSP 228R 112 LSA.
Injectors are 450cc injectors @ 3 BAR, 540cc@4bar. (~52 lb/hr @ 58 psi?)
GTO T-56.

Alright, so, i'm having issues getting it to idle with my megasquirt 2 board. I can technically get it to idle around 1.1k-1.2k RPM, but i've been trying to bring it down into the 750-850 range.

Is there anything special I should know about getting this cam to idle well? I've read some saying 20-22 degrees of timing to get it to idle well, and a 13.0-13.5 AFR. I don't have knock sensing capabilities with my MS2.... so, I worry about messing with timing too much. I'm hoping to have a solution to the knock sensing later on, or some method to listen for it. I've heard it's not as bad at low RPM, it's high RPM, high load that can destroy the engine?

I am tuning with IAC closed and plug removed, and system set to open-loop mode.

Is there a general region that the base timing should be at for this setup? My kpa load when trying to idle, appears to be sitting 60-70 kpa. If I have the throttle held slightly, to hold the car at 1k RPM, it sits at about 50 kpa.
I'll attach my newest tune attempt and log. I added a ton of timing (right terminology?) to 50-80 kpa @ 700-1k RPM zone. due to someone mentioning 20-22 degrees at idle. But... it was previously ~16 degress.

Tune:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1mQ...BSGnNl2LU044Pk

Log:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1em...6nMs3CbwPRAmaJ